NEMANJA: SMIRENOUMLJE

srijeda, 25.04.2007.

Meet the architects of law face to face

CLOSER: THIS IS THE WAY, STEP INSIDE.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Atrocity Exhibition

Asylums with doors open wide,
Where people had paid to see inside,
For entertainment they watch his body twist,
Behind his eyes he says, 'I still exist.'

This is the way, step inside.
This is the way, step inside...

In arenas he kills for a prize,
Wins a minute to add to his life.
But the sickness is drowned by cries for more,
Pray to God, make it quick, watch him fall.

This is the way, step inside.
This is the way, step inside...

This is the way, step inside.
This is the way, step inside...

You'll see the horrors of a faraway place,
Meet the architects of law face to face.
See mass murder on a scale you've never seen,
And all the ones who try hard to succeed.

This is the way, step inside.
This is the way, step inside...

And I picked on the whims of a thousand or more,
Still pursuing the path that's been buried for years,
All the dead wood from jungles and cities on fire,
Can't replace or relate, can't release or repair,
Take my hand and I'll show you what was and will be

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Cimitero Monumentale di Staglieno in Genoa


- What about that song the band perform called Welcome To The Atrocity Exhibition, surely that was influenced by Ballard?

- Actually no, I'd written the lyrics way before I read Atrocity Exhibition and I was looking for a title because sometimes I just can't think up a good title. Anyway I just saw this title at the beginning of one of his books and I thought that it just fitted with the ideas of the lyrics. Sometime after I wrote the lyrics and the song had been established in our set, I read the book and it is by pure coincidence that some of the ideas in the book are similar to some of the ideas in the lyrics.

Isolation

In fear every day, every evening
He calls her aloud from above
Carefully watched for a reason
Painstaking devotion and love
Surrendered to self-preservation
From others who care for themselves
A blindness that touches perfection
But hurts just like anything else
Isolation --

Mother I tried, please believe me
I'm doing the best that I can
I'm ashamed of the things I've been put through
I'm ashamed of the person I am
Isolation --

But if you could just see the beauty
These things I could never describe
These pleasures a wayward distraction
Is this my one lucky prize?
[or in the Still and H&S live versions:
This is my one consolation
This is my one lucky prize]
Isolation --


- 05:58 - Komentari (17) - Isprintaj - #


View My Stats